My job was not not to be this I am doing now.

In a country where graduates are many than offered jobs, everyone must think on to fight unemployment. Sedric Mugisha is an university graduate. After six years of unemployment, he decided to leave what he called “Crocodile tears ” and do other things. This is why he tried to find a small place in Gitega central marked where he sells beans. Menya Magazine has interviewed him and here is what he answered :

When I entered the University for the first time, all my thought were directed to doctors work. I used to tell myself that I will become a doctor. I studied and everything went well. I tried to look for a job but it was impossible. I was angry with the lack of money and began to gather small money. In 2016, I joined a team of builders. They asked me to give them a live goat. What I did. After they ate it, they, they treated me like a trainee and I was paid 2,500 BIF per day. The work is tiring but my target was to get a capital in order to inter business. I used 1,500 and save 1,000 BIF. The saved money was also used in an association. After two years, my saving were up to 24,000 BIF. I asked a loan in the association and get an additional money of 30,000 BIF. This brought me to a capital of 54,000 BIF. The problem of capital was finished but the problem of place started. I met many difficulties to find it. It required 10,000 BIF to know every information about the place and business. I remember my first day, I had palm oil, beans, cassava flour, salt, soaps,.. all at small quantity. That day, I didn’t sell anything and I become confused. I continued, clients coming slowly slowly. At a given time, I realized that my clients ask for beans and decided to deal with beans. Things were changing day after day and right now I sell beans only. I can purchase 10,000 kgs of beans. I have built my own house, I got married and I continue with the business. I call unemployed people to change their mind. There are many young guys who has crossed their arms, waiting the job from where they don’t know. They have to avoid the fear of failure. Some will say that the capital is a problem but I council them to enter local association. My call to the government is to settle a bank that will care of unemployed youth, giving them capital to start business. I thank the Menya Magazine to reach me in this place and I believe that this magazine will help us to promote our work.

MenyaMagazine

Published by menyasite

Social Entreprise

Leave a comment