Working in rural villages for rural villagers Part 2

Working in rural villages is not easy. That is why many organizations stay in town or headquarters of the city, trying to connect with rural villagers. Most of workshops are attended by towners and citizens. Rarely, rural villagers are invited.

Menya-FPI is already working with them. Remember that rural areas are challenged by the lack of safe water, electricity and internet. When we go to visit our groups, we go with power banks and all we will need in the journey.

Menya-FPI is changing lives…

Immaculée testifying: “First of all, I want to thank Menya-FPI to have started and running this project of teaching rural and unprivileged villagers to save some money of their income. Before I join this group, I was considered as inactive in my family. My husband is a drunk man and don’t care of our family. After one year, I have what to show and to say about this project. In one word, my manner of thinking changed.

I heard about Menya-FPI when my husband was invited to attend a workshop organized by Menya. I tried to connect to them. Although I wanted to join, I didn’t see from where I will get money to save, because I am the only one to care about our family of seven members. When I met some of the leaders of Menya-FPI, they convinced me and have shown me how I will be getting the money to save. One of them told me:” Most of rural villagers work in the farms of their boss and are daily paid. In this your salary, try to keep some money so that you will be able to join others in that journey”. With these words, I tried to apply what he said and I saw it is very easy. Now, I have bought some goats and pigs, I am able to pay school fees for my children. Our group members are all women. Really, this project is changing lives, especially women for who it was difficult to own they own money, begging everything from their husband. Nowadays, I am trying to teach my husband to create one group at least. I plan to buy a land after the actual circle. The challenge is that I don’t get a loan according to what I want to do. My wish is that Menya-FPI helps us to get to that level. We are together with them”.

Some men don’t let their wives join groups. Others give money to their wives. In the upcoming years, Menya-FPI will gather group members and rural farmers in order to teach them why it is good to save. In this journey of impacting rural villagers and farmers, Menya-FPI will cover the whole country. Slowly, but surely. To get there, we need to join our hands as one man for one purpose.

If you want to reach out to us, notify us in the comments section.

Menya-FPI Magazine

Published by menyasite

Social Entreprise

Leave a comment